Conroe · Houston · Fulshear · Katy · Kingwood  |  Telehealth in TX, NC & SC — Care From HomeCall or text 713-BOTOX-ME

Peptide Education Center / Safety Bulletin

Public Safety Alert · Reviewed September 3, 2026

Urgent peptide
safety bulletin

Federal cases and FDA actions show how counterfeit, misbranded and “research-only” injectables can enter the American market. This page separates documented facts from allegations—and evidence from fear.

A label can be printed in seconds. Sterility, identity, potency and medical accountability cannot.

Primary government sourcesCase status identifiedMonthly surveillanceNo anonymous claims
What We Found

Real criminal cases, FDA warnings and documented patient harm

Authorities have documented illegal importation, repackaging, counterfeit products, unsanitary manufacturing, dosing errors and at least one related online-injectable contamination case with significant, potentially life-threatening injury.

What We Did Not Find

No verified government finding of a death caused by the named wellness peptides

We did not find an authoritative U.S. government case proving death or permanent disability directly caused by BPC-157, TB-500, CJC-1295 or ipamorelin. That absence does not establish safety; it means the public human evidence is incomplete and claims must remain precise.

Conviction / sentenceJudicial outcomeGuilty pleaAdmitted conductPending chargeAllegation, not guiltFDA warningRegulatory findingAdverse reportNot proof of cause
Federal Case Files

The danger is often the supply chain

Each entry identifies its legal status and whether the public record describes patient harm. Charges remain allegations unless and until proven.

2026 indictment · allegation

Utah physician and imported peptide products

Federal prosecutors allege a licensed physician obtained discounted, inadequately tested products from China and administered substances including semaglutide, tirzepatide, retatrutide, cagrilintide, BPC-157, TB-500, ipamorelin and CJC-1295 to more than 200 patients.

Status
Pending criminal charges; presumed innocent.
Public harm record
The release does not disclose a specific patient injury.
U.S. Department of Justice source
2026 sentencing

Massachusetts “research purposes only” operation

A couple imported drugs from China, repackaged them with “For Research Purposes Only” labels and sold them while knowing customers intended to ingest or inject them. DOJ reported more than $2.5 million in gross revenue.

Status
Each sentenced to one year and one day in prison.
Public harm record
The release does not disclose a specific patient injury.
U.S. Department of Justice source
Conviction and sentence

PNC-27 made in a kitchen and warehouse

DOJ reported that an Alabama defendant made unapproved cancer-treatment products in nonsterile conditions, imported materials from China and concealed human use behind research labeling.

Status
30 months in prison and $900,000 forfeiture.
Public harm record
The release does not disclose a specific patient injury.
U.S. Department of Justice source
2025 guilty plea

Kentucky misbranded semaglutide

A physician pleaded guilty after administering unapproved semaglutide obtained from unauthorized suppliers. Some vials were labeled for research only, and prosecutors said patients were not told.

Status
Federal guilty plea.
Public harm record
The release does not disclose a specific patient injury.
U.S. Department of Justice source
2026 charge · allegation

Counterfeit Ozempic with no semaglutide

Federal prosecutors charged a Chicago nurse with allegedly distributing counterfeit Ozempic that was not manufactured by Novo Nordisk and contained no semaglutide.

Status
Pending criminal charge; presumed innocent.
Public harm record
The release does not disclose a specific patient injury.
U.S. Department of Justice source
FDA Safety Evidence

Numbers that require careful interpretation

Reports associated with a product do not alone prove the product caused the event. They still provide an important signal—especially where mandatory reporting is limited.

990

Compounded semaglutide reports

FDA adverse-event reports associated with compounded semaglutide through May 31, 2026. FDA notes likely underreporting and does not claim every report proves causation.

730+

Compounded tirzepatide reports

FDA adverse-event reports associated with compounded tirzepatide through May 31, 2026, again without an automatic causal conclusion.

5–20×

Documented dosing mistakes

FDA described compounded semaglutide patients administering five to twenty times the intended dose, with some requiring medical care or hospitalization.

FDA GLP-1 Safety Update FDA Dosing Error Alert

Research-Only Peptides

Unknown does not mean harmless

BPC-157 · FDA evaluation

Three adverse-event reports, major evidence gaps

FDA’s July 2026 review identified reports including injection-site redness and swelling, shortness of breath prompting an emergency-room visit, and diffuse skin and gum darkening after a BPC-157/TB-500 combination. The reports cannot establish causation. FDA also cited insufficient long-term safety information and concerns about impurities, aggregation and immunogenicity.

Read FDA evaluation
TB-500 · FDA evaluation

No adequate human safety record

FDA found no human clinical exposure data or human adverse-event case reports for TB-500 in its review. FDA described theoretical immune risks that can be severe, but this is not proof that such an event has occurred in a patient using TB-500.

Read FDA evaluation
“Research use only” is not a safety certification.

FDA warning letters issued March 31, 2026 said that research disclaimers did not overcome evidence that retatrutide, tirzepatide and related products were being marketed for human use. FDA warned that injectable products can create serious and life-threatening risk when quality is not assured.

Regulatory Watch · July 2026

FDA committee review moved several popular peptides toward exclusion from 503A compounding

FDA’s Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee materials proposed not adding BPC-157, KPV, TB-500, MOTS-c, emideltide, Epitalon and Semax—free base and acetate forms—to the 503A bulk drug substances list. A proposal or advisory vote is not the same as a final FDA determination; this bulletin will track the final agency action.

Read the FDA briefing document
Protect Yourself

If a vial or seller raises concern

  1. Do not inject or discard it.Quarantine the product and preserve the vial, packaging, receipt, shipping container, messages and photographs.
  2. Verify the prescriber and pharmacy independently.Use the applicable state licensing board and FDA outsourcing-facility records—not a badge displayed by the seller.
  3. Seek urgent medical care for serious symptoms.Call 911 for breathing difficulty, facial swelling, fainting, confusion, chest pain, severe abdominal pain or signs of sepsis. In the U.S., Poison Control is 1-800-222-1222.
  4. Report the event and product.Submit adverse events or product-quality problems through FDA MedWatch. Suspected counterfeit or illegal drug sales may also be reported to FDA and law enforcement.
Safety Before Sales

Do not gamble with an
unknown-source injection.

A qualified clinician, a valid prescription and a traceable, properly regulated pharmacy are essential parts of treatment—not optional extras.

Continue Exploring

Move from information to the right next step.

Explore connected treatment guidance, meet the clinical team or begin a personalized consultation.

Prepared byIdentity Aesthetics Clinical Editorial Team

Patient education developed from primary regulatory, labeling and professional sources.

Medically reviewed byDallas Alvey, MD, DDS

Chief Medical Officer – Texas · Aesthetic medicine, hormone optimization and peptide therapy.

Evidence reviewSeptember 3, 2026

Read our editorial standards and update policy